Home » Predictions » Astrology » Significance Of Navagraha

Significance Of Navagraha

There are nine planets in Astrology, and the Navagraha order is Sun, Moon, Mars, Mercury, Jupiter, Venus, Saturn, Rahu and Ketu. The Navagraha in English are nine heavenly bodies or heavenly deities.

These Navagraha in astrology have a great significance, and they are a strong influence on a person’s life. The seven names of the week are derived from the nine planets. Rahu and Ketu are not planets but the shadow nodes of the moon.

9 graha pooja s are conducted. They are worshipped, and these planets are worshipped individually as well.

It is well known that these planets are very important when it comes to the calculations made by Vedic Astrology. Several things related to one’s density are directly connected to these planets.

You can seek the blessing of all the Navgraha and restore the blessings in your home with Navgraha Yantra.

Below are all the nine graha, what they represent and how these Navagraha influence astrology, human life, and overall well-being.

Sun or Surya is a royal planet and the king in astrology. It represents the soul, willpower, father, paternal relations, the king or the high officials. It is hot and angry. The colour is red, the metal is gold, and the gem is ruby. The Navagraha Sun’s position represents the eastern direction.

The Sun stays in each sign for one month and takes one year to complete the Zodiac round. Its motion is quite fixed, and many Indian festivals are as per the Sun’s entry into the various Signs. For example, on January 14, it enters Makara, and this day is celebrated as Makar Sankranti. On April 13/14th, it enters Mesha, and this day is celebrated as Baisakhi. The change in seasons is also linked to the Sun’s entry into various Signs and Nakshatra (constellations). Sun is the Pitra karaka or the planet connected with the father.

Moon or Chandra is also a royal planet and is the queen in astrology. It represents the mind, emotions, sensitivity, the mother, house and domestic comforts, milk, sea and all things connected with the sea, hotel and food industry, textiles and apparels: It is cold and calm, its colour is white, direction north-east, metal is silver and gem is pearl. The moon is the fastest moving of the nine planets and takes approximately 2-1/2 days to travel a Sign.

When the Sun and Moon are in the same Sign, it is called Amavasya or New Moon day or the 1st day of the dark fortnight. The lunar days or Tithi change with every 12-degree difference between the Sun and the moon. When the Sun and the Moon are in the same opposite Signs or 180 degrees apart, it is called Poornima or the Full Moon day or the 1st day of the bright fortnight. Moon is Matra karaka or the planet connected with mother.

Your moon’s sign-in is placed in your birth chart called your Janma Rashi/ Moon Sign. The star constellation in which your moon is placed is called your Janma Nakshatra.

Mars or Mangala or Kuja is commander in astrology. It represents energy, courage, younger brothers & sisters, armed forces, the police forces, commanders, administrators, men in high position, land, engineering, metals, real estate agents and surgery. Its metal is copper, and its gem is coral; its colour is red, and its direction is south. Mars takes about 45 days to travel one Sign. He is the Bhatra karaka or the planet connected with brother.

Mercury or Budha is the prince in astrology. It represents speech, intelligence, maternal uncles, short journeys, the medical profession, trade, computers and the web, astrology and knowledge of the shastras, accounts, mathematics, journalism, printing and publishing. Its metal is bronze, the gem is emerald, the colour is green, and the direction is north. Mercury takes about a month to travel a Sign. It is always within a 27-degree distance from the Sun, as per the astrological point of view.

Jupiter or Guru or Brihaspati is known as the “Devaguru” or the guru of the Gods. It represents higher knowledge, spirituality, priests, temples, teachers, research & scientists, lawyers & judges, children and understanding of the shastras and astrology. Its colour is yellow; metal is gold, the gem is the yellow sapphire, and the direction is north-east. Jupiter takes about one year to travel a Sign. He is the Putra karaka, or the planet connected with children.

Venus or Shukra is the “Daitya guru” or the guru of the demons. It represents spouse, sex life, kidneys and sex organ, dance, music, arts, gems and jewellers, wines, bars, gambling places, acting, fashion, cosmetics and beauty products. Its metal is silver, the gem is diamond, the direction is southeast, and the colour is white. Venus takes about a month to travel a sign and completes the round of the Zodiac in 12 months. From the astrological point of view, it is always within 48 degrees of the Sun. He is the Kaletra karaka or the planet connected with the spouse.

Saturn or Shani is the servant in Vedic astrology. It represents hard work, sorrow, older men, servants and the lower level workers, people in the iron and steel industry, municipality, and drainage works. A well-placed Saturn can bestow excellent power, prestige, name and fame, whereas a poorly placed Saturn can devastate you. Its metal is iron, and the colour is blue, the gem is blue sapphire, and the direction is west. Saturn is the slowest moving of the nine planets and takes approximately 2-1/2 years to transit a sign and complete the Zodiac round in 30 years. It is the Udyog karaka or the earth connected with the profession.

Rahu or Dragon’s Head represents foreigners, foreign countries, foreign travel, engineering and the technical trades, smoke, older men, grandparents, theft, gambling, drinking, nonconformists, the underworld and the harmful elements of society. Its colour is black, metal is mixed-metal, and its gem is Gomedh. Rahu takes approximately 1-1/2 years to travel a sign and hence completes the Zodiac round in 18 years.

Ketu or Dragon’s Tail represents grandparents, technical trades, spiritual inclinations, superstitions and electronics. Its colour is brown, and the gem is the cat’s eye. Ketu is always in the opposite Sign to Rahu, i.e., exactly 180 degrees away. Ketu also takes approximately 1-1/2 years to travel a sign and hence completes the Zodiac round in 18 years.

Navagraha pooja is a medium to seek the blessing of all the Navagraha by individually performing the puja for all the Navagraha here.

This Navagraha produces different results and opposite effects while placed in the 12 other Signs (Rashis). Again each has some good results and some bad results in each Sign. This is an essential aspect of Vedic astrology which must be remembered.

At various specific distances from the Sun, the planets Mars, Mercury, Jupiter, Venus, and Saturn become retrograde or appear to move in the backward direction. Sun and moon do not have any retrograde motion. The motion of Rahu and Ketu is always opposite to that of the other planets.

Also, the following are the planetary rule of the below Navagrahas

The periods of the planetary rule are as follows:-

Ketu – 7 years

Venus – 20 years

Sun – 6 years

Moon- 10 years

Mars – 7 years

Rahu – 18 years

Jupiter – 16 years

Saturn – 19 years

Mercury – 17 years

Navagrahas are even found in temples. In the south of India, all the shiva temples have Navagrahas. Whereas toward the north, the Navagrahas are carved on doors to protect the devotees!

Talk to an Astrologer Now, First Consultation with 100%

Pt. Umesh Chandra Pant
Celebrity Astrologer,

You may also ask for authentic, reliable and unbiased guidance by Pt. Umesh Chandra Pant on Pooja, Mantra, Jaap, Yantra, Gemstones, Kavacha, Rudraksha, and other remedial measures you may follow to please these planets. Get 100% personalised Horoscope Dosha & Remedies report NOW!