The twelve Houses of a horoscope are considered as a record of the entire life and qualities of the person. The first House, about which we will learn in detail, is the backbone of any horoscope. The first House is known as Lagna (Ascendant), and the Lord of the first House is called as Lagnesh or Ascendant.

According to Vedic astrology, the first House of the horoscope represents the physical presence of the person. It represents physique, early life, childhood, health, character, physical built, complexion, virtues, will power, fame, beauty, age, joys and sorrows, mind, physical frame, nature and one’s inclinations towards different aspects of life. This House influences the sense of knowing one’s strengths, weakness, likes, dislikes, and how they would want others to perceive them through their mannerisms, behaviour and attitude.

You don’t need an expert to tell you what your Ascendant is. Here is how you can find your Ascendant. Take your horoscope and observe the numbers written in the Houses.

Following are the numbers, and each one of them represents a particular sign.

1. Aries
2. Taurus
3. Gemini
4. Cancer
5. Leo
6. Virgo
7. Libra
8. Scorpio
9. Sagittarius
10. Capricorn
11. Aquarius
12. Pisces

Each sign has a Lord. Given below are the Lords of the 12 zodiacs.

Sun – Leo
Moon – Cancer
Mars – Aries and Scorpio
Mercury – Gemini and Virgo
Jupiter – Sagittarius and Pisces
Venus – Taurus and Libra
Saturn – Capricorn and Aquarius

If the first House has 12 written in it, Pisces is the Ascendant, and Jupiter is the Lord of the Ascendant in that horoscope.

The Zodiac signs also have some basic characteristics, which are rightly associated with the primary elements of nature namely- earth, fire, air and water. The signs possess peculiarities of these elements.

Aries, Leo and Sagittarius are known as Fire signs
Taurus, Virgo and Capricorn are known as Earth signs
Gemini, Libra and Aquarius are known as Air signs
Cancer, Scorpio and Pisces are known as Water signs

Day Guide

Comprises of events likely to happen, hourly guidance & precise timeframes

Life Meter

Know the percentages of different aspects of your physical and mental state


Check out how well will your wavelengths with others match