Know About Kalki, The Upcoming Avatar Of Lord Vishnu

The world moves forward banking on the strong power of hope. Life is a mixed bag of joys and sorrows. There are situations when we feel overwhelmed by challenges and difficulties.

We feel broken and think there is nothing to achieve in life. However, hope makes us continue our journey with positivity and patience. Indeed, it is the single largest factor which makes us carry forward in spite of numerous odds. It is said that hope represents a divine spark in the human psyche which puts down all depressing and devilish thoughts.

Well, religiosity is deeply entwined with human affairs. So, the hope and promise for a better future often come from the import of religion. There are various religions in the world which have spoken about a promised messiah who will come to rescue humankind at the end of time.

The Hindu scriptures in India have talked about the Lord Kalki, the forthcoming 10th Avataar of Lord Vishnu. It is stated that Lord Kalki will appear at the time when Kaliyug will reach it’s the worst phase.

When evil will become the predominant reality in this world in the last & most corrupt age the Kali Yuga, Lord Vishnu will come to Earth in human form, to rescue humankind and re-instate the cycle of time and commence Sat-Yuga afresh.

So, it is important for one to stay on the right side of Karma. The karmic planet Saturn has entered into Capricorn. This transit will give rewards based on your past deeds, know what changes will Saturn transit bring in your life, with Saturn Transit Report!

More About The Kalki, The Last Avatar Of Vishnu

Kalki, also known as Kalkin or Karki is the upcoming avatar of Lord Vishnu. He will recycle time by ending the Kaliyug and re-initiating the Satya Yuga. He is described in the Puranas as the avatar who rejuvenates existence by ending the darkest and destructive period to remove adharma and ushering in the Satya Yuga while riding a white horse with a fiery sword. However, the description and details of Kalki avatar predictions are inconsistent among the Puranic texts,

For example, he is just an invisible force destroying evil in some texts, while an actual person who kills those who persecute others in other texts, and some texts portrayed him as someone leading an army of Naga warriors to eliminate adharma from the world as per Kalki predictions. In fact, his story has been compared to the concepts of Messiah, Apocalypse, Frashokereti and Maitreya in other religions.

No Mention In The Vedas

Vedas do not mention Kalki avatar of Vishnu. At the same time, the term "Kalmallkinam", meaning "brilliant remover of darkness", is found in the Vedic literature for Rudra (later Shiva), which is stated to be "forerunner of Kalki". Know more about the interesting Indian mythology and Hindu Astrology.

Kalki Appears In Mahabharata And Puranas

Kalki is mentioned first in the great war epic Mahabharata. The mention of Kalki in the Mahabharata occurs only once, over the verses 3.188.85–3.189.6. Besides, Kalki avatar is found in the Maha-Puranas such as Vishnu Purana, Matsya Purana, and Bhagavata Purana. However, description of Kalki mythologies are divergent between the Epic and the Puranas, as well as within the Puranas, as per Vishnu Kalki avatar story.

The Kalki Purana

There is a small text named Kalki Purana is a relatively recent text, likely composed in Bengal. Its dating is around 18th-century. Wendy Doniger dates the Kalki mythology containing Kalki Purana to between 1500 and 1700 CE.

Well, in the Kalki Purana, Kalki marries princess Padmavati, the daughter of Brhadratha of Simhala. He fights an evil army and many wars, ends evil but does not end existence. Kalki returns to Sambhala, inaugurates a new yuga for the good and then goes to heaven.

The 10 Avatars Of Lord Vishnu (along with the time cycles - Yugas (Aeons)):

The following are the names of the 10 avatars of Lord Vishnu (including Kalki Avatar):

Satya Yuga:

1) Matsya avatar,
2) Kurma avatar,
3) Varaha avatar,
4) Narasimha avatar

Treta Yuga:

5) Vamana avatar,
6) Parashurama avatar,
7) Rama avatar

Dvapara Yuga:

8) Krishna avatar

Kali Yuga:

9) Buddha avatar,
10) And the much-awaited Kalki avatar

To Get Your Personalized Solutions, Talk To An Astrologer Now!
With Ganesha’s Grace,
The Team