Home » Predictions » Astrology » About Indian Vedic Astrology – Definition, Types, And Method Of Calculation

About Indian Vedic Astrology – Definition, Types, And Method Of Calculation

About Indian Vedic Astrology – Definition, Types, And Method Of Calculation

“What’s your zodiac sign?” It is now no more a quirky question. Right? Checking astrology apps or reading daily horoscopes has become an important part of our morning routines. The planets and stars have always inspired a sense of curiosity. The two luminaries, the Sun and the Moon, as well as the eight planets in our solar system, plays the most important role when it comes to an understanding of how astrology works. If you are Astro-curious, today we are going to break down some of the basics of Indian Vedic Astrology.

Indian Vedic Astrology is also known as Vedic Jyotish. The word “Vedic” means “wisdom and truth” while the word “Jyotish” is formed of two words, i.e. Jyot means Light and Isht meaning God. Hence Vedi Jyotish means “True Light of God”. Jyotish is also known as an “eye” because it allows us to understand our past, present and future and also reveal our personality traits.

Reveal your personality traits and your hidden powers with Janampatri.

The study of astrology or Jyotishshastra can be traced to the Vedic times. Glimpses of astrological traditions are visible in the Atharva-Veda, one of the most sacred texts of India. Indian Vedic Astrology is very ancient and the oldest system of astrology. As per the estimates from Puranic Time and the Archaeological Record, the Indian Vedic astrology has the age of about 5000 BC.
The history of astrology is explained in the sacred Vedas of Hinduism. It is believed that Indian Vedic Astrology is based on one of the six supplements of Vedas known as Vedangas. Ancient sages like Vashistha, Bhrigu, and Garga were the experts of Vedic astrology and made many accurate and precise predictions. Then sage Parasara wrote Brhad Parasara Hora Sastra, before the beginning of Kali Yug (present time around 3102 BC). He even taught it to one of his disciples, sage Maitreya and so on. This way, the Indian Vedic Astrology made a long journey. Then it even passed to Persian, then to Babylonians, then to Greeks, Romans and Egyptians.

Read 2024 Detailed Month-Wise Report to Learn More About the Various Aspects of Your Life in 2024.


The main difference between Indian Vedic Astrology and Western Astrology lies in the technique of calculations. Western astrology bases its zodiac on the equinoxes. The positions of the planets that are considered by western astrology continue to change with respect to the stars. While Vedic Astrology predictions are based on the twelve constellations from the Babylonian calendar, and also has an additional “lunar” zodiac based on 28 lunar constellations or Nakshatras.
In Indian Vedic Astrology, stars are considered to be the fixed background against which the motion of the planets is measured, while Western astrology uses the tropical zodiac where the movement of the planets is measured against the position of the Sun on the Spring equinox. However, due to the precession of the equinoxes, the difference between Indian and Western astrology becomes only noticeable over time. These two systems are identical when there is a shift of the origin of the ecliptic longitude by about 22 degrees or days, resulting in the positioning of planets in the previous signs in the Western birth chart.

In Indian astrology, predictions are based on various calculative approaches. But the main and important sources of Vedic astrology prediction are Surya Siddhanta, Graha Laghava etc. One can find many different aspects of time calculation in ancient Vedic astrology. The sacred Vedic texts have many calculation methods for prana, pala, ghati, kala, vikala, kshana, ahoratra, paksha, shravana masa, ritu, ayana, bhramana chakra, varsha, and yuga. The favourable and unfavourable impact of planets can be known only by adopting accurate calculations. Without proper knowledge of calculation and time, it is very difficult for an Indian Jyotish to make predictions. GaneshaSpeaks’ expert astrologers have more than 25+ years of experience in Vedic Astrology. You can talk to astrologers and get the most accurate future insights.

Rig Veda: The root of Indian Vedic Astrology prediction
Gola: Positional astronomy
Ganita: Mathematical calculations to find Gola
Jataka: Natal astrology
Prasna: Where predictions are made based on the time of asking the question.
Muhurta: The most favourable and auspicious time to start something new.
Nimitta: Good omens and portents

Planetary Transits in the Year 2024 Can Impact Your Professional Life Positively or Negatively, Know Your 2024 Career Report…


Below are the three types of Indian Vedic Astrology:
Siddhanta (Astronomy): Where astronomy is applied to astrology.
Samhita (Mundane astrology): In Mundane astrology, important events of countries like war, political events, natural calamities like earthquakes, flood, etc., are predicted. Moreover, Astro – meteorology, financial status, house & construction-related matters, Vaastu Shastra, omens etc.of are included in Samhita astrology.
Hora (Predictive astrology):
Hora is further divided into 11 parts:

  • Jatak Shaastra / Hora Shastra (Natal Astrology/Indian Vedic horoscope): In this, personalised predictions are made based on an individual Indian Vedic chart.
  • Muhurt or Muhurtha (Electional astrology): It is the selection of the most beneficial time to start a new activity to get maximum results and benefit.
  • Swar Shashtra (Phonetical astrology): In this, Vedic astrology predictions are based on name & sounds.
  • Prashna (Horary astrology): Here, predictions are made on the basis of the time when a question is asked by an individual.
  • Ank Jyotish / Kabala (Numerology): A branch of astrology based on numbers.
  • Nadi Astrology: An ancient practice where detailed predictions are made through thorough analysis.
  • Tajik Shastra / Varsha Phal (Annual Horoscope): Astrology predictions are based on the annual solar returns.
  • Jaimini Sutras: A non-conventional method predicting the timings of events based on Famous Indian astrologer Acharya Jaimini.
  • Nastjaatakam (Lost Horoscopy): Art of tracing / construction of lost horoscopes.
  • Streejaatak (female astrology): A special method of astrology dealing with female nativities.

It is believed that Indian Vedic astrology is the oldest system of astrology in the world. It is highly authentic, and its predictions are believed to be the most accurate. In Vedic astrology, predictions are made on the basis of the actual constellations of stars. It is the most widely used system of astrology across the world.

What the Future Holds For You. Know your personalised birth chart here.

Vedic Astrology is an incredible and powerful tool of self-discovery. It provides cosmic clues to why certain things happen in your life. It can shine a light on inner contradictions and your natural strengths and weaknesses. It can give you a deeper understanding of all the important aspects of your life, including your career, finance, health, love, married life, etc. It will guide you and help you make the right decision in life.

Talk to an Astrologer Now!! First Consultation with 100% Cashback!


With Ganesha’s Grace,
The GaneshaSpeaks Team