Ashtanga Yoga Postures & Sequences You Should Know About

Blog title

Vinyasa Yoga is a sequence of postures that you perform one by one, and that is what makes it one of the unique types of Yoga. Because you move from one posture to another posture in one continuous motion, it is also called Flow Yoga or Vinyasa Flow Yoga.Today, we will talk about what are the postures and their sequences to follow for Vinyasa Yoga. How is it different from hatha yoga, and what are some of the benefits of Vinyasa Yoga. So, stay tuned.

Ashtanga Primary Series Poses

These are the poses most suitable for ashtanga yoga poses for beginners, and the primary series is called Yoga Chikitsa, as these postures are used in yoga therapy for health. Here is the primary sequence for Ashtanga Yoga.

  1. Surya Namaskara A
  2. Surya Namaskara B

Fundamental Postures

  1. Padangustasana
  2. Pada Hastasana
  3. Utthita Trikonasana
  4. Utthita Parvakonasana
  5. Prasarita Padottanasana
  6. Parsvottanasana

Ashtanga Primary Series Postures

  1. Utthita Hasta Pandangustasana
  2. Ardha Baddha Padmottanasana
  3. Utkatasana
  4. Virabhadrasana
  5. Paschimattanasana
  6. Ardha Baddha Padma Paschimttasana
  7. Triang Mukha Paschimttasana
  8. Janu Sirsasana
  9. Marichyasana
  10. Navasana
  11. Bujapisasana
  12. Kurmasana
  13. Supta Kurmasana
  14. Garbha Pindasana
  15. Kukkutasana
  16. Baddha Konasana
  17. Upavustha Konasna
  18. Supta Konasna
  19. Supta Padangusthasana
  20. Ubhaya Padangusthasana
  21. Urdhva Mukha Paschimattasana
  22. Setu Bandhasna
  23. Urdhva Dhanurasana

Closing Sequence

  1. Salamba Sarvangasana
  2. Halasana
  3. Karnapidasana
  4. Urdhva Padmasana
  5. Pindasana
  6. Mathsyasana
  7. Uttana Padasana
  8. Sirsasna
  9. Yoga Mudra
  10. Padmasana
  11. Utpluthih
  12. Savasana

How do you apply wellness in your life? Consult our online therapist to get the perfect guide.

Ashtanga Intermediate Postures

The Intermediate series is performed after you have completed the primary series and you are comfortable with them. The intermediate series is called Nadi Sodhana, which refers to the purification of the nerves. These ashtanga second series poses can be a little uneasy for beginners. Therefore, it is advisable to move on to them only when you are comfortable with the Primary series.

  1. Pasasana
  2. Krouncasana
  3. Salbhasana
  4. Berksana
  5. Dhanurasana
  6. Purva Dhanurasana
  7. Ustrasana
  8. Laghu Vajrasana
  9. Kapotasana
  10. Supta Vajrasana
  11. Bakasana
  12. Bharadvajrasana
  13. Ardha Matsyendrasana
  14. Eka pada Sirsasana
  15. Dvipada Sirsasana
  16. Yoga Nidrasana
  17. Tittibhasana
  18. Pinca Mayurasana
  19. Karandavasana
  20. Mayurasana
  21. Narkasana
  22. Vatayanasana
  23. Parighasana
  24. Gomujhasana
  25. Supta Urdva Pada Vajrasana
  26. Mukta Hasta Sirsasana
  27. Baddha Hasta Sirsasana
  28. Urdhva Dhanurasana
  29. Pascimottanasana

Advanced Series Postures

As you can see above, the postures gradually build up in their level of expertise. Like intermediate postures, you are advised to attempt them only after doing the intermediate series with comfort. The ashtanga third series poses are called Sthira Bhaga, and it refers to strengthening your core.

The advanced series is further divided into four parts, and you should only move on to the series next to you if you can perform every single posture from the series before. They are called Advanced series a, b, c, and d, and here are some of the poses from the series.

  1. Vasisthasana
  2. Viscamitrasana
  3. Kasyapasana
  4. Chakorasana
  5. Bhairvasana
  6. Skandasana
  7. Durvasana
  8. Urdhva Kukkutasana A & B
  9. Koundinyasana
  10. Astavakrasana
  11. Bakasana
  12. Purna Matsyendrasana
  13. Viranchyasana
  14. Dvipada Viprita Dandasana
  15. Viprita Salbhasana
  16. Ganda Bherundasana
  17. Supta Trivikrmasana
  18. Hanumanasana
  19. Dikasana
  20. Utthita Trivikramasana
  21. Natarajasan
  22. Raja Kapotasana
  23. Ekpada Raja Kapotasana
  24. Vruksasana
  25. Viprita Chakrasana
  26. Pashimottasana


These are the sequences or postures typically used in Ashtanga Yoga for primary, intermediate, and advanced levels. The students are expected to memorize these sequences and practice them. It helps in improving your flexibility, strength, cardiovascular fitness, and much more. So why wait? Start with your Ashtanga Yoga postures right away, albeit with the primary series if you are just getting into it.

Do you want to know more in-depth about other yogas then talk to an expert therapist now.

You may also like:-

Setu Bandha Sarvangasana – Bridge Pose – Significance and Benefits.
The Seated Staff Pose Or Dandasana in Yoga.
Legs up the wall pose (Viparita karani) – Tips

Talk to Online Therapist

View All

Continue With...

Chrome Chrome