Top 5 Importance Of Studying The Six Vedangas

The Vedic scriptures consist of Revealed literature and Memorized literature. Shruti and Smriti. Shruti is the revealed literature and Smriti is the memorized literature. Shruti sculptures consist of Vedas and Smriti consists of the Vedangas and Upanishads.

The Vedas consist of four different scriptures. Rigveda, Yajur Veda, Sama Veda, Atharva Veda. Rigveda is the collection of Prayers, Yajur Veda being the manual of sacrifices and rituals, Sama Veda is the collection of hymns in musical form whereas, Atharva Veda includes magical charms.

  • What Is The Role of The Six Vednagas?
  • Top 5 Importance Of Six Vedangas

Vedangas are literally the limbs of the Vedas. They are six in numbers. Like we stated earlier, the Vedangas are the limbs, so just how the limbs provide support to the body, the Vedangas perform various supportive functions in the study of Vedas. They are auxiliary disciplines associated with the study of Vedas.

Vedangas follow the full study of language and expression from Phonetic to words and statements. The spiritual concepts and rituals are easily made understandable through the Vedangas. The Six Vedangas are an abode to true knowledge and wisdom. They help you understand the mantras. We do know that the Vedas will always prevail over the Vedangas, but how will you read, if you don’t know the Vedangas. A student who wants to focus on the study of Vedas will first have to study the Vedangas and thus, learn the correct pronunciation and grammar. This will indeed lead you to the correct meaning of all the subjects included in the Vedas. The six Vedanags are the core of the Vedas and thus, considered sacred.

What are the Six Vedangas?

The Six Vedangas are disciplines treated in sutra literature dated back to the Vedic period, where one can experience the transition from Vedic Sanskrit to classical Sanskrit. These subjects are an integral part of the Vedic System. They help you understand the Sanskrit scripture and thus, lead you to a spiritual journey through a better understanding of Vedas and Vedic practices,

Shiksha Vedanga: Phonetics

Shiksha means instructions that help you in correct pronunciation, accentuation of the Sanskrit scriptures. It contains rules regarding the proper pronunciation of Vedic scriptures.

Kalpa Vedanga: Rituals

The second of the six Vedangas intends towards the proper application of the Vedic texts. The oldest Kalpa Sutras are directly connected to the Brahmanas and Aranyakas. It deals with the systematic treatment of the manuals.

Vyakaran Vedanga : Grammar

Vyakaran or Grammar is the necessary step to understand the Vedas. Ashtadhyayi by Panini is the most celebrated textbook of grammar and is well associated with the Vedic School

Nirukta Vedanga: Etymology

Nirukta Vedanga explains the reasons why a particular word has been used. The only work that has survived through the years is Nirukta by Yaska. Yaska says that without the precise knowledge of Nirukta, it would be difficult to understand the Vedic Scriptures.

Chhanda Vedanga: Metre

The chhandas is designed to secure a proper reading and recitation of verses from the Vedas. There are different Vedic Metres and thus the Chhandas have different sections varying from each other.

Jyotisha Vedanga: Astronomy

Jyotisha Vedanga is the study of astronomy and thus, conveys the knowledge of the heavenly bodies and helps fix the days and times of Vedic sacrifices and rituals. Even certain hymns give out the traces of advances of the moon and sun.

What Is The Role of The Six Vednagas?

The Vedangas have an important role in protecting and preserving the Tradition of Vedic Science for a long time. Since the time and development of the world, the scriptures are being formalized. The procedures and techniques discussed performing procedures and techniques of Vedic rituals. This helps the succeeding generations to practice Vedic ceremonies with little ambiguity and fear of transgression.

The Vedangas is a science that focuses on helping you understand the Vedas.

These six Vedangas are the organs of the Vedas. There has been a great service provided by our rishis, to understand this analytical and sophisticated approach toward the Vedas and literature related to the mantra.

The Vedangas state that Veda is actually a Purusha having six limbs and those Six Limbs relate to the Six Vedanags. It is stated that Chhandas are his two feet, Kalpa is his two arms, Jyotisha is his eyes, Nirukta is his ears, Shiksha is his nose and Vyakarana is his mouth. They symbolically represent the organs of the Veda Purusha.

This is the Sanskrit verse that explains the above-mentioned reference.

“ Siksha Kalpo Vyakaranam Niruktam Chandasam Chayah Jyotishamayanam Chaiva Vedangani Shadevatu.”

Thus, the Vedas are imagined to possess six limbs in the form of the Six Vednagas. These Six Vedangas are extremely important. Here is how it can be explained through 5 points.

Top 5 Importance Of Six Vedangas

  1. The Vedangas ensure the purity of language and explain a greater way of communication. It reduces the mortal fear of death and conducts religious ways of expression for men. They enhance different thoughts and beliefs according to different social strata for men. This is being established on the basis of the spiritual behaviour of a human being during the performance of the rituals described in the Vedangas.
  2. Most of the religious practices and rituals in Buddhism and Jainism are taken from the Sanskrit scriptures. They have been included in their education system as well as in spiritual practices. Countries like China, Japan, Vietnam, Thailand, Malaysia have been preaching and preserving Buddhism for ages. They try to preach Buddhism through various rituals and practices mentioned in the Vedangas.
  3. The Six Vedangas have literary and historical value. Hence, it has a wide understanding of development through ages about the language. They provide literary sophistication and thus provide linguistic knowledge about the Indian Subcontinents and the languages preached here.
  4. The Six Vedangas highlight the importance of academic excellence. They provide knowledge about the moral discipline that upholds the Vedic dharma and traditions related to it.
  5. The Vedanagas provide the vitality of the Vedas. They focus on changing the circumstance according to the world and enhancers on core value so the Vedangas. It provides a superior vision and wisdom accordingly.

While the combined knowledge of the Vedas and the Vedangas is a greater prospect for understanding spiritual knowledge. Sanskrit has been the language of our country since its origin, and thus, its emergence in the form of worship and temple prayer is exquisite. However, the Vedas and Vedangas have lost the importance due to the inadequacy of understanding the language by the modern youth, but if we try to focus on these spiritual verses and try to study them, we might be able to inculcate expensive knowledge about science and spiritual freedom at a great extent.

Talk to Online Therapist

View All

Continue With...

Chrome Chrome