Did You Know That We Are Sailing In The Age Of Aquarius...


As per modern Astrologers, it is believed that we are currently sailing in the age of Aquarius. After knowing this, are you curious to know - what do the age of Aquarius mean? Read on...

To find an answer to the above question, we should look back at the history of our planet Earth. When we look at the Sun from a vantage point on the Earth – we understand that the Sun travels around the Earth once every year. The Sun travels a narrow path in its journey, which is called the ecliptic, and passes through the 12 Signs of the Zodiac in its yearly journey.

Way back in the Babylonian times, when the first foundation stones of Astrological science was formally put in place - the Signs of the Zodiac were named after the actual constellations of stars in the sky. Astronomers in those early times observed that the Sun travelled through the same constellations each year.

In the spring, the path of the Sun passed over the constellation of Aries. In the fall, the path of the Sun passed over the constellation of Libra. The commencement of an astrological year is a point that is known as the Vernal Equinox. This is the point where the Sun’s path passes over the celestial equator (the line which separates the heavens into a northern half and a southern half) - wherein, day and night share the same length – an Equinox - and the word Equinox is a Latin word which means “Equal Night(wherein night is equal to the day).

There exist two equinoxes in the year – they are vernal and autumnal. The vernal equinox commences the spring season and the autumnal equinox commences the autumn season. The vernal equinox also commences the 1st astrological Sign which is Aries, and the first half of the Zodiac; the autumnal equinox commences the 7th Sign which is Libra and the second half of the Zodiac. Thus, when astrology was first introduced, the vernal equinox not only indicated the commencement of the Sun’s entrance into the Sign of Aries, but also into the Aries' constellation. At that point in time, the two were regarded as similar. However, after that period, the subjects of astrology and astronomy got diverted.

Zodiac Signs no longer represent the same configuration in the sky. Henceforth, these days, when an astronomer speaks about Taurus, he or she refers to the actual group of stars in the heavens that creates the constellation of Taurus. On the other hand, when an astrologer speaks about Taurus, he or she means the second astrological Sign, which is 30° segment of the Zodiac that dominates the entire set of symbols, associations and characteristics.

Hipparchus, a Greek astronomer explored a phenomenon called the Precession of the Equinoxes in the 2nd century B.C. Hipparchus explored that the Earth changes its placement slowly and gradually, as it moves through the solar system. This change in Earth's position is termed as “wobble” by the scientists as it slightly resembles a top wobbling as it revolves around its own axis. As the celestial equator is on the similar line as the Earth’s equator except that it is projected out into the heavens - over the period of great many years, this tilting of the Earth alters the placement of the celestial equator. Henceforth, as the positioning of the Earth changes, the line of the celestial equator also changes. Thus, as time passes by - the Vernal Equinox (the place where the path of the Sun pass over the celestial equator) occurs in altogether different constellation. This slow movement of the Earth’s shift is called the “Precession of the Equinoxes” because during the time period of numerous years, the equinoxes slowly and gradually travels in the backward order through all the constellations of the Zodiac.

Way back in time, when the Babylonians calculated the Zodiac, the vernal equinox took place in Aries' constellation. At the time of Christ's birth, which was the starting of A.D. - the Earth had tilted so much that the vernal equinox took place in Pisces' constellation. Around the year 2000 A.D . - the vernal equinox began to occur in the constellation of Aquarius. Thus, we are sailing in the Age of Aquarius.

The equinoxes travels through the Zodiac slowly and gradually at the infinitesimal rate of about one degree for every seven and half years. Thus, the equinoxes travels through one Sign of the Zodiac in the time period of about 2,150 years. The equinoxes journeys through all of the 12 Signs of the Zodiac in the time period of approximately 25,820 years. Thus, 26,000 year time period is known as the Great Year. Every 2,100 year transit through a Sign is known as a Great Month. Here, a Great Month is also termed as an Age. As the time period involved is huge for each transit through a Sign, identifying the exact year for the beginning of the new age becomes all the more difficult. We were in the Age of Pisces for the previous 2000 years, and have entered the Age of Aquarius around 2000 A.D. Thus, through the astrological sign of a particular era, each Age is identified.

Our planet Earth has passed through thousands of Great Years during its overall existence. If the estimation of our scientists are to be believed then our planet Earth is around 4.6 billion years old – That means Earth has moved through around 177,000 Great Years. However, humankind’s ancestors who moved on two legs have lived on Earth for just 115 Great Years , which comes to three million years. Add to it that - Neanderthal Man moved on this Earth just 9 Great Years ago. Astrologers can detect mankind’s written history only as far as back to the Age of Leo.

  • Age Of Aquarius (2000 A.D. to 4000 A.D.)
  • Age Of Pisces (1 A.D. to 2000 A.D.)
  • Age Of Aries (2000 B.C. to 1 B.C.)
  • Age Of Taurus (4000 B.C. to 2000 B.C.)
  • Age Of Gemini (6000 B.C. to 4000 B.C.)
  • Age Of Cancer (8000 B.C. to 6000 B.C.)
  • Age Of Leo (10,000 B.C. to 8000 B.C.)

In our next follow up articles, we will -

You can either check back for these interesting articles or bookmark this web page to check easily later on.