Nakshatra – Stars in Astrology, Nakshatra Astrology, Nakshatra Horoscope

Nakshatra or Stars in Astrology

These celestial luminaries make all the difference in astrological calculations. Initially, the zodiac was grouped in 12 Rashis for convenience, however the ancient seers have farther subdivided the heavens into 27 Nakshatras or star constellations for the call of precession. These constellations or the Nakshatras emerged as one of the most important components in Astrology.

Vedic astrology identifies each constellation with a star. The 360 degree division of the sky is therefore further divided into 27 subdivision of 13.20 degrees identified with 27 stars. Each of these Nakshatras are farther subdivided into four Padas or quarters of 3 degrees and 20 minutes. Therefore the first Rashi, Mesha, which has 30 degrees, contains the entire 4 Padas (13:20′) of the 1st star constellation Ashwini, the entire 4 Padas (13:20′) of the 2nd star constellation Bharani and the 1st Pada (3:20′) of the third star constellation Krittika. In this manner, each Rashi comprises of 9 Padas. Some schools of astrology also consider 28 divisions with an additional star called Abhijit. However, for all practical purposes only 27 stars starting from Ashwini are considered. (Ref: the chart).

These Nakshatras are broadly classified under the three heads of Deva (divine), Nara (human) and Rakshasa (Demonic). Farther, they are subdivided by their gender and Varna (cast), and are also ascribed with qualities such as colour, presiding deity, merits and ruler ship of body parts, planets etc.

While the effects of a particular planet placed in a Rashi is studied, the position of the planet in respect to the Nakshatra and its particular Pada is also born in mind. Indians through ages have been taking into account these Nakshatras for determining the auspicious dates and Muhurtha (moment) for any cultural or religious event including marriage. The role of Nakshatras and their respective Padas in predictive astrology is unique to Indian astrology.

Nakshatras (Constellations) and their essential merits

No.Nakshatras (Constellations)Astronomical NameDeityRuling Planet Starting DashaColour
1AshwiniBeta ArietisAshwini brothersKetuBlood red
2Bharani35 ArietisYamaVenusBlood red
3KrittikaEta TauriAgniSunWhite
5MrigshirshaLambda OrionisChandraMarsSilver Grey
6ArdraAlpha OrionisRudraRahuGreen
7PunarvasuBeta GeminoriumAdityJupiterLead
8PushyaDelta CancriBrihaspathiSaturnBlack mixed with red
9AshleshaAlpha HydroeNagasMercuryBlack mixed with red
10MaghaRegulusPithrasKetuIvory or cream
11PurvaphalguniDelta LeonisBhagaVenusLight brown
12UttaraphalguniBeta LeonisAryamanSunBright blue
13HastaDelta CorviAdityaMoonDeep green
14ChitraSpica Virginis -VegusTvashtavMarsBlack
16VishakhaAlpha LibroeIndra-AgniJupiterGolden
17AnuradhaDelta ScorpioMitraSaturnReddish brown
19MulaLambda ScorpioNirrtiKetuBrownish yellow
20PurvashadhaDelta SagittariJalVenusBlack
21UttarashadhaSigma sagittariVishwa devaSunCopper
22ShravanaAlpha AquiloeVishnuMoonLight blue
23DhanishthaBeta DelphinumAshta vasavMarsSilver Grey
24ShatbhishaLambda AquariusVarunaRahuAquamarine
25PoorvabhadrapadaAlpha PegasiAjaikapatJupiterSilver grey
26UttarabhadrapadaGama PegasiAhir BudhanyaSaturnPurple
27RevatiZeta PiscumPooshvavMercuryBrown
28AbhijitVegaBrahmaSunBrownish yellow

04 Sep 2012


You may also find these interesting

All Zodiac Signs

Expert astrologers extensively trained by Bejan Daruwalla will personally guide you on all aspects of your life

Trending Predictions & More

Trending Predictions & More